Don’t Settle

When you look around, what do you see? An office? A classroom? I see a dim desk lamp and a laptop sitting on top of a minimalistic desk under a flag on the wall that reads, “Keep Exploring”.

In life, I’ve settled for a lot of things I shouldn’t have settled for—as so many people do. I don’t know when it became okay to settle for anything less than what we deserve, but it’s become the new normal.

Why have so many given up? Why have so many lost hope? I want to live my life, I mean really live it. Too many people settle for 9-5 jobs just to come home and eat, sleep and watch Netflix. I don’t see the point in that.

I’m young, only 21, but sometimes I get the overwhelming feeling that I’ve wasted my life. It’s not a feeling I enjoy.

It’s not really true. I haven’t wasted my life. I still have a lot to live, but I’ve wasted too many moments that I wish I could have back.

I’ve decided to do something about it. For one, I’ve decided to live a more simple life. I continue to eliminate unnecessary noise and distractions from my life and push toward minimalism.

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. – Confucius

I’ve also decided to spend more time in nature. We were created for nature and nature was created for us. It’s an intrinsic aspect of our being as humans, but we often let it slip onto the floor when our plates become too full. This is something I’ve done too often. As life becomes more hectic, the time I spend in nature becomes one of the first things that fades out, but not anymore.

When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world. – John Muir

Those are a just a couple things I’ve changed in my life. What needs to be changed in yours?

Leave a Reply

