Becoming a Minimalist in College

RareformCardHolder.jpeg

I am in my third year of college and late last semester I was turned on to the idea of minimalism. Now, being a college student, my life already represented that of a minimalist since I didn’t have much to my name as it was. What would make me want to get rid of the stuff I did have?

The answer is simple. Actually, the answer is simplicity. Even though I already didn’t own much compared to a career man with a house, wife, and kids, I still owned too much. I had clothes I never wore, shoes I hadn’t put on since the day I purchased them, and plenty of other clutter in my life.

“Make things as simple as possible but no simpler.” – Albert Einstein

I figured the best place to start was my room at my parent’s house, considering I hadn’t needed nearly anything I had left there the majority of the semester. I got rid of what I could in that week, then, two weeks later, came back for Christmas break and started again. It was like a weight was being lifted from my shoulders that I didn’t even know was there. I was getting rid of the unnecessary so I could make room for the necessary.

I still don’t call myself a minimalist. It’s a process. I have laid down certain rules for myself to continue my push towards minimalism though. For example, when I buy a T-shirt, I have to get rid of two. It may sound crazy, but this way I am always reducing. Not only does it help me get rid of the excess T-shirts I still have, but it helps me decide if a purchase is actually worth making.

I have heard it said that every piece of clothing you own should be your favorite, and I love that. If you own a pair of pants that doesn’t fit quite right, get rid of them. If you own a shirt and the color isn’t flattering on you, get rid of it. It’s that simple. Just be honest with yourself.

“Too many people spend money they haven’t earned, to buy things they don’t want, to impress people they don’t like.” – Will Rogers

Minimalism is more than a trend, it’s a lifestyle. It isn’t about getting rid of everything you own, but it is about everything you own serving a purpose and bringing you joy. Also, keep in mind minimalism can be applied to all areas of your life, not just clothing or things you own. 

On Netflix, there’s a documentary called “Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things” by a pair of guys known as The Minimalists. I recommend watching it, even if you have only the slightest interest in minimalism. It’s a great a place to start.

Leave a Reply

